Broken foot not so broke any more!

I thought I’d better update on my broken foot.

I had the cast taken off a month ago now and I’ve been discharged from the fracture clinic. After having a final set of x-rays, the doctor reasurred me that the break is healing well. Apparently I can now do anything that doesn’t hurt – but still avoid uneven surfaces and running/dance! It will be another month before it is healed fully.

Once the kids start back at school in September I will get back to running and dance again.

I’m still getting a small amount of discomfort in my foot. We went to the North Devon Show last week which was incredibly muddy. My foot didn’t appreciate the ankle high muddy surface and I was suffering later that evening. I guess wellies aren’t the most supportive footwear either! This just goes to show I still have to take it gently.

One response

  1. I broke my 5th metatarsal on vacation. I went to visit my family in California and decided to go surfing. I fell off my board and smacked my foot into a rock. My foot immediately swelled up and my toes bruised within 3 days. I didn’t want to ruin my vacay so I denied to fact that it was clearly broken. I did all the things you’re not supposed to do, like walk on it for 10 days. I didn’t even go to the doctor cuz I didn’t want to pay any fees. So when I got home to Toronto Canada , I went to the hospital and they did x-rays and gave me an aircast (God bless free health care).So I’ve had this aircast on for almost 2 weeks and I have a fracture clinic app on Wed. Sept l6, and they may give me a plaster cast. My question is this, does it hurt to walk on now, and do you walk normally? I’m so afraid that I won’t walk the same way again! Are there any serious limitations you now face? Please help!

Leave a Reply

